Author Topic: Storing Cheese  (Read 7043 times)

AustinReed

Storing Cheese
« on: September 17, 2009, 01:45:13 PM »
Hello everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and I'm trying to find out a good way to store cheeses.  I recently joined the Artisanal Cheese of the Month Club and I had an idea to store the cheeses in an old mini fridge that I do not use.  I was thinking of using 1 or 2 packets of a  Boveda Humidifier Pack 65% http://www.boveda-direct.com/products/item_detail.cfm?ITEM_ID=2 Which the company says would keep the humidity up in the fridge to the 65% specification. Also I was thinking of wrapping the racks in fabric and storing the cheeses on small plates to make it look more presentable. Any ideas or suggestions on this method would be very much appreciated since I have never done this before and I can't find anyone else searching the web that has done this either. Thanks  :D

wharris

Re: Storing Cheese
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2009, 02:27:48 PM »
If you are merely storing the cheese as opposed to aging the cheese. I do not see why wrapping it in saran wrap, or putting it inside a ziplock baggie and storing it in your fridge would be bad.

Essentially, this cheese is ready to eat and you are not engaged in any affinage related tasks, so I  would think that you would simply want to preserve it. 

I say: Seal it, and cool it.

But that is just me.

AustinReed

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2009, 02:55:13 PM »
I think the main reasons to do this would be for presentation for when guests or family come over and they have wine/cheese they can choose their own and how much they would like. Wrapping it and throwing it in the bottom of the fridge just doesn't seem as much fun as setting up this small fridge that is not being used. Also I'm sure i'm not going to eat 1.5lbs a month so was hoping for someway to keep it fresh for a long period while having it look nice.  Thanks for your reply  ;)

wharris

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2009, 04:26:35 PM »