Author Topic: ~waving from the mountains of northern georgia...~  (Read 4117 times)

shadddup

~waving from the mountains of northern georgia...~
« on: October 01, 2009, 08:49:50 PM »
In researching how to make homemade cheeses, I found y'alls forum and just joined...

I have a small farm that consists of Nubian goats (for dairy), Buff Orpingtons (for eggs), turkeys (for meat), Angus cattle (for meat), a mare to whisk me off to parts unknown and a few Kangals and Anatolians to protect it all.

I'm a chef by trade and my desire to grow foods from their original, natural foundations, is what prompted me to move a few years ago from Miami to these mountains.  I have had goats for about 1 1/2 years...I started out with Saanans and switched to the Nubians, and am now ready to learn how to make cheeses.

In my research, I'm seeing that making a quality product requires many things...equipment, product and patience lol.  I'm hoping that by jumping into the fray with y'all that I'll sidestep a few (or alot) mistakes and achieve my goals more gracefully lol.

I have a zillon questions so please be patient with me.

Shad.

FarmerJd

Re: ~waving from the mountains of northern georgia...~
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2009, 08:56:42 PM »
Welcome aboard! This is a great group and I have just joined myself recently. I actually take my family to north Georgia each October at the end of the month for the apples in Ellijay and a yearly camping trip. We have been going every year for the past 10 years I think. We bring home about 15 bushels of apples and put them up for the year. I am always amazed at how beautiful it is. Good luck with the cheese making!

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2009, 09:16:25 PM »
Hi Shad and welcome to the forum, always good to have a Chef here!

Have fun with your new adventure!

shadddup

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2009, 09:37:26 PM »