Author Topic: Camembert covered in pink mould / bacteria early on  (Read 11875 times)

nhall

Camembert covered in pink mould / bacteria early on
« on: June 27, 2008, 02:52:16 PM »
Hi,
I'm new to making cheeses and so far have only made Camembert.

My problem is in the first few days my cheeses are being covered in what looks like a pink mould or bacteria.  The cheese covers in pink then the white mould takes over.  A few days later, the white has taken over the pink and you wouldn't know the pink had been there.

I was very disappointed after seeing the pink mould the first time so repeated the process.  And again had the same problem.  After identifying some equipment I may not have sterilized properly i.e. making the starter, I repeated again ensuring everything was cleaned and extra attention paid to hygiene.  And yet again, my cheese is covered in a pink coloured growth.

I have also been careful not to cross infect, always handling latest batch back to earliest batch when turning my cheeses but I now have 11 cheeses aging in my cheese cave but all have a history of this pink mould.

Has anyone experienced this? What can I do? I'm tempted after all this effort to abide by the "ignorance is bliss" practice and as I cant see the pink mould anymore on the older cheeses, and have a taste....can anyone tell me what I should do???

Cheese Head

Re: Camembert covered in pink mould / bacteria early on
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2008, 04:22:00 PM »
Hello nhall and welcome to CheeseForum.org!

OK I've searched through my books and cannot find a pink mould before the normal white mould dominates and covers your cheese. The good news is that you are getting good coverage and dominance of the white mold, just not quick enough and thus I think the reason you th pink flora are initially taking charge.

But what I've read may be useful, some snippets: