Author Topic: Natural Rind - Surface Cracks, What Now?  (Read 5978 times)

micah

Natural Rind - Surface Cracks, What Now?
« on: November 01, 2009, 05:21:19 PM »
Okay, I'm still relatively new to cheese making.  My first cheddar is drying too quickly; it has some cracking.  How do I recover?

Can I wax this?

Should I trim the exterior?

wharris

Re: Natural Rind - Surface Cracks, What Now?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2009, 05:44:39 PM »
I would g et it into a properly humidified environment soon. 

I have found that cracks will shrink  (heal?) when properly humidified.  I'm pretty sure they are still there, but they seem to shrink and should not grow bigger.

You might want to think about what kind of rind you are looking for. 
If you are ok with it, you might want to vacuum seal the cheese, or coat it with lard and muslin.

If you are aging it,  I am not a big fan of waxing for long periods of time.  I would wax only after aging and just prior to distribution. (if you are selling or giving some away)
good luck.

justsocat

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2009, 05:51:35 PM »
The day before yesterday I've got exactly the same problem! I left my cheddar for air drying at the kitchen and went out. Meanwhile my wife started a cake in electric oven and when i return after about 2.5 hours my cheese looked absolutely the same as the one at your picture.
I just covered it tight and moved to fridge. Flipped after 4 hrs and next morning surprisingly all cracks disappeared!

micah

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2009, 06:18:28 PM »
I would g et it into a properly humidified environment soon. 

I have found that cracks will shrink  (heal?) when properly humidified.  I'm pretty sure they are still there, but they seem to shrink and should not grow bigger.

I have placed the cheese in a plastic tub that is in a larger tub filled with water.  The larger tub has a lid on it.  It is now at basement temperature (62F).

Should I spray the cheese with water to moisten it?