Author Topic: Noob from UK  (Read 3663 times)

Parselmouth

Noob from UK
« on: November 02, 2009, 02:24:37 PM »
Hi all, great forum, loads of great information.

I'm a novice to cheesemaking, have currently made 6 cheeses (2 cheddars(ish), 2 stiltons, 1 severely nibbled (by me) and 1 in bin).

I'm lucky enough to have access to as much raw cow's milk as I want, as my hubby is a dairy farmer,  so I've no excuse not to at least try the cheesemaking.

Today I'm attempting some camembert, so we'll see how it goes.

mtncheesemaker

Re: Noob from UK
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 05:11:54 PM »
Welcome to the forum, and good luck with the Camemberts. There is good info here.
Pam

GBoyd

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2009, 05:18:39 PM »
Wow. A nearly limitless supply of milk. You're right, cheesemaking would be a wonderful skill/hobby.

Alex

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2009, 05:29:48 PM »
Wellcome Parselmouth
Good luck with the Cam's. As some of the cheese makers experience problems with making Camembert, please keep us updated with your progress.

Cheese Head

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2009, 06:38:33 PM »
Welcome Parselmouth, lots of great info and people here ;D.

FarmerJd

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2009, 07:17:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum. What kind of cows are in your dairy and how many? Small dairies are becoming more rare these days.

Parselmouth

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 02:21:10 PM »
Thanks for the replies. The camemberts went quite well, although having not made them before I didn't know how high to fill the hoops and they have shrunk down more than I would have preferred. I'll know for the next time to make one less.