Author Topic: Rind formation question, no salt bath  (Read 3311 times)

Knoal

Rind formation question, no salt bath
« on: March 11, 2010, 07:47:54 PM »
I making my first cheeses and did a 'hard style'  I used thermophilic starter and cooked the curds for 45min at about 115 degees until the curds were fairly squeeky.

I used a gallon of raw milk and a gallon of organic milk.

I pressed the curds whle warm and they formed a rather nice wheel.

As I'm a beginner, making the cheese was enough for me.  I didn't brine the wheel (and we were out of salt...)

I keep reading about rind formation.  Is something supposed to grow?  The salt helps the flavor and inhibits the bacteria.  Right?

The rind is plenty dry and, in my opinion, seems wonderful.  :D

The cheese is about a month old.

Any dangers to be wary of?

Alex

Re: Rind formation question, no salt bath
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 09:14:55 PM »
The salt helps the flavor and lowers acidity. Salt also helps to inhibit bad mold.

MarkShelton

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 10:00:53 PM »
nice cheese! and the shape has some character to it. what kind of mold did you use?

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 11:04:39 PM »
Knoal, salt has several functions. I don't know what type of cheese you are making but all cheeses need salt. If you didn't brine it did you dry salt the curds or rind or does your cheese have none?

On rinds, there are many types, none if vacuum bag, dry layer of rind if you air dry your cheese, mold if you intentionally add a surface mold, wash your rind or if your humidity is too high and you get an unwanted airborne mold. Keeping the humidity correct for long aging times is difficult, too high and get surface mold, too low and get drying of cheese and sometimes stress cracks on surface. Thus most people either intentionally add a surface mold (to be dominant) or vacuum bag/wax or oil the rind to reduce moisture loss and inhibit surface molds.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese