Author Topic: Making First Cheese Cave  (Read 3923 times)

Melkvine

Making First Cheese Cave
« on: November 08, 2009, 07:39:56 PM »
Greetings All!,
     So i am a novice cheese maker in Portland, Oregon.  After building a dutch press and refining my technique with yogurt inoculated 'brick' cheese I finally sprung for some cultures and got a local goat's milk connection.  I made my first two wheels of 'White Goat's Milk Cheddar' this past week and tried aging them in my cellar on cheese-mat lined plates covered with bowls.  I know the humidity isn't right, but they both spoiled after about 48 hours because the temperature turned out to be close to 63F on the regular (i took initial temps. during a cold front).  Milk is expensive and I need to find an aging solution before proceeding with any more hard cheeses.
     I have a hygrometer and combing the forums a forced-air fridge with perforated plastic storage containers and damp cheese/terry cloth over the fans seems the best solution.  However, we are frugal folk and were hoping for a passive solution.  As it is currently the rainy season and 50F average outside, one of my housemates suggested making a box of 2x3's with screen on either end for good cross-flow.  Humidity would of course fluctuate and while it doesn't get over 55F these days it does get down to low 40's at night.  Would the lower temperature's/fluctuation cause a problem? And does anyone have suggestions on passive/outdoor solutions?  Else i can spring for a used fridge for $20-30 on Craig's List and build a cave like so many on the forums.
     Appreciate it, this is my first post, but ive been a member for a couple weeks now, mostly learning from what has already been asked/said and it seems like a good community.

Cheers!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Making First Cheese Cave
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2009, 08:47:23 PM »