Author Topic: Fresh mozzarella  (Read 9339 times)

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Fresh mozzarella
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2009, 05:49:13 AM »
Pavel I have never used ph meter on mozzarella. Just started using one for other cheese recently and I forget most of the time.

Hard to teach an ole girl new tricks!  ;)

justsocat

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2009, 06:30:01 AM »
I'm a chemistry engineer, Debi, and  this is one of the reasons why I don't use those meters. I don't want another chemical laboratory at home. Again I don't state I'm right. Everyone is free in our prison ;D
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 06:37:29 AM by Pavel »

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2009, 06:40:35 AM »
I think that the look and feel of the make are more intuitive for some people than others. It's like trying to create a recipe from something you have made forever and never measured anything - it doesn't come out the same.

Tea

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2009, 07:45:33 PM »
Well for me, I was determined not to use a pH meter.  I mean, cheese makers for centuries haven't used one, so it must be able to be done?  Right?
Well just when I thought I understood the cheese, everything started to go wrong.  I was having more misses than successes, and it was getting a little too expensive to keep ruining a cheese.  As I also needed a pH meter for my mead I decided to bite the bullet and purchase one.  I am hoping that as time goes, I will be able to learn from the look and feel, and that I won't eventually need the pH meter.

Fingers crossed.

mosborn

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2009, 11:17:22 PM »
Tea, how do you use the pH meter for your mead?  I have two batches of mean going, and I think maybe I'd like to learn what the heck I'm doing with that.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2009, 12:48:33 AM »