Author Topic: Using Different % Fat Milks & Other Questions  (Read 6032 times)

mhorlick

Using Different % Fat Milks & Other Questions
« on: July 09, 2008, 02:53:30 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I am a relative newbie at making cheese. I bought "Home Cheese Making" by Ricki Carroll and have several of the soft cheeses and I have just completed making Farmhouse Cheddar from her book.

It's been less than a month since I made that cheese and I am anxiously waiting to cut that baby open. What will I find, I wonder, beautiful cheese, a ton of mold or some slimy gooey monstrosity.

I made my own press using some instructions on the internet. Basically 2 cheese boards stacked on top of each other. My biggest hurdle was how to press at 50 pounds. I had some weights from my muscle building days but not enough and you can only stack them so high till they topple over. Finally, I settled by creating a 30 pound bucket filled with hard cement and with 2 10 pound weights in each, voila! Still not as stable as I want but OK.

Anyways, I have a few questions.

The recipes pretty much all call for whole milk. Can I substitute a lower fat milk, 2%,1% or skim milk?

Since all the recipes pretty much call for whole milk do all hard cheeses have the same milk fat? How much would it be and what would be the difference in using a lower fat milk?

I bought Ricki's smallest hard cheese mold (4-1/2'Wide x 5"High) and even using only 1 gallon of milk I got a nice hunk of cheese and the mold was pretty full with that. The mold is supposed to hold 2 pounds but can't see how. I would like to make smaller chunks of cheese (say 4 pieces each weighing a half pound). After pressing but before waxing I could cut the chunk into 4 pieces then wax seperately but I was wondering if any better solutions?

I have more questions but I dont want to try your patience  ;)

Regards,

Mike from Montreal, Quebec

DaggerDoggie

Re: Using Different % Fat Milks & Other Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2008, 07:49:26 PM »