Author Topic: Homebrew that just discovered cheese making  (Read 4733 times)

fastdogbrewing

Homebrew that just discovered cheese making
« on: December 14, 2009, 08:08:17 PM »
Hi I'm Mike, but I generally go by FastDogBrewing.  I have been homebrewing beer for about 7 years now and have been really involved in the homebrew community, including being president of my local homebrew club for the last 2 years.  Lately I have been pulling back from the overt involvement in clubs and online forums because of work and because I have found it takes away too much time that I could be spending brewing.

So now I am looking at cheese making, along with doing more BBQ/smoking with my newly built UDS(Ugly Drum Smoker).  I got a cheese making kit this last saturday in a gift exchange for my homebrew club.  One of the guys in the club owns the local homebrew shop and has been looking at adding cheese making supplies so he picked up some kits.  I made my first batch of Mozzarella last night, and while it wasn't great it was cheese.  So now I am excited about this, my wife WILL say I am getting obsessed.

So here I am looking for information, advice and more people to get to know that are "obsessed" about food and drink hobbies like I am.

;D

Tea

Re: Homebrew that just discovered cheese making
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2009, 08:29:27 PM »
Good morning Mike and welcome to the forum.  You will find that many of us have several hobbies, and brewing is a common one.  One of the members here also has a forum for smoking and preserving meats, so you should fit right in. 
What cheese are you hoping to make next?

fastdogbrewing

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2009, 08:59:13 PM »
Good morning Mike and welcome to the forum.  You will find that many of us have several hobbies, and brewing is a common one.  One of the members here also has a forum for smoking and preserving meats, so you should fit right in. 
What cheese are you hoping to make next?