Author Topic: Cheese nut in Oregon  (Read 1136 times)

tina

Cheese nut in Oregon
« on: December 23, 2009, 05:31:05 AM »
Hello everyone. I am so happy to have found such a great source of cheesy information. I've been able to find a few websites with recipes, but to have a place to ask questions is priceless!

I'm new to cheesemaking; found a source of goat milk and some direct set cultures, so have done several batches, including chevre, feta, and ricotta. After going to restaurant supply places, I found some stainless steel cake rings and have improvised a press using lots of weights. My first pressed cheeses were eggnog queso fresco. The first one was great with an amazingly delicious flavor, but not a real "cheesy" texture. It turned out more like a very heavy cheesecake. The second one is still in the process of aging for a week, then I'll give it a taste.

Not sure what direction to head next. Maybe some smoked mozzarellas or cheddars. Would love to hear about peoples' cheese smoking experiences; wood types and temps.

So, thanks in advance for all the wonderful information I'll be finding here. It's much appreciated!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Cheese nut in Oregon
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 10:46:00 PM »
Hello Tina and welcome! I am a big fan of using cherry, apple, pecan and hickory for most smokes. I do have a good variety of woods I use for different things and a pretty extensive wood smoking flavor chart you can download here:

http://www.deejayssmokepit.net/Downloads_files/SmokingFlavorChart.pdf