Author Topic: Wet Behind the Ears and Its Not Whey  (Read 4660 times)

Offline Lennie

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
  • Default personal text
Wet Behind the Ears and Its Not Whey
« on: January 05, 2010, 02:58:50 AM »
Hi I'm Lennie and I'm from Hannibal MO.  My wife bought me Ricki Carroll's Home Cheese Making and Tim Smith's Making Artisinal Cheese for Christmas.  She knows I like hobbies, and she loves cheese!  Great gal.

Anyway, I am a biochemist by training and an analytical chemist by trade so I udnerstand a little about enzymes and pH measurements.  I was a cook for seven years during high school and college so I know my way around the kitchen and have a good sense of what works and what doesn't.  I also brew beer and make wine so I have the beverages to go with some good cheese.  From these hobbies I understand the importance of a good forum and this one looks to be full of good info and helpful people who won't mind answering stupid newbie questions.

I'm hoping to learn to make decent cheese.  I ordered some supplies from Ricki Carroll's website: rennet tabs, blue cheese culture, direct pitch cultures for mesophilic and thermophilic cheeses, some good cheese cloth and a small mold.  I am hoping to start with some nice cheddar and then try my hand at a Blue or Stilton.  I'm going to make my own press since I do woodworking as well.

Wish me luck, I know I'm going to need it.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Wet Behind the Ears and Its Not Whey
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 03:47:28 AM »
Good luck Lennie. I to brew beer. If you can al-grain brew you will find the techniques for making cheese easy to follow. Patience and attention to temperature are already learned.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2010, 10:26:05 PM by DeejayDebi »

Offline Lennie

• Mature Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 04:27:20 AM »