Author Topic: Pressing Weight/Pressure -Gouda & Others  (Read 20332 times)

cath s

Pressing Weight/Pressure -Gouda & Others
« on: January 07, 2010, 10:34:13 PM »
Gouda newbie here..
It appears that there are HUGE variations in pressing weight between recipe to recipe???

The Gouda recipe on this website has quite light weights compared to say Ricki Carrolls

I work solely in kg
The recipe here for 2 US Gallons of milk
is 2kg for 15 mins
6kg for 1 hour
11kg overnight (8-16 hours)

Ricki Carrolls is
9kg for 20 mins
13.5kg for 20mins
22.5kg overnight (12-16 hours)

Why such a huge variation?  Both are based on 2 US gallons of milk.

I have made cheese with both weights and the lighter pressing is a disaster!!!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Gouda Pressing Weights
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 02:54:33 AM »
A lot depends on the way it's made and we each have slightly different techniques and pressing styles. I always press lighter but longer. Start low and add weight as the cheese demands. If you add to much weight in the begining you can actually trap the whey between the curds and as it ages and dries out it leaves holes. As strange as this may sounds ... let you cheese talk to you. you can see when it's ready for more weight.

cath s

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 04:03:42 AM »
thks for the hint re weights Debi. 

The last gouda I made is the closest to starting to look/taste right at its infancy... but alas the pressing weight was far too light and I fear it will be a disaster like the other two I sampled earlier on today.  Previous to that I had used higher pressing weights.

Can you tell me why the two recipes above have such diff weights?  The time frames are somewhat similiar. 

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 08:46:10 PM »