Author Topic: new cheese maker from Michigan  (Read 4256 times)

Dana

new cheese maker from Michigan
« on: January 09, 2010, 01:08:49 AM »
Hello wonderful cheese people!

I just wanted to say "hi" from southern Michigan!   I have been raising dairy goats for a few years and I am expecting 2-3 gallons of milk a day-- soon! 

I have made 30 minute mozzarella, basic vinegar soft cheese and lemon juice soft cheese.  I hoping to make cheddar cheese this spring along with buttermilk and yogurt. 

With all the great information on this forum I may be tempted to try a bunch of new cheeses!

Dana

Zinger

Re: new cheese maker from Michigan
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2010, 02:30:10 AM »
Welcome Dana, it's great to have another Michigander on the forum. I know that you will benefit and enjoy this group of helpful people. WHat part of Michigan are you from, I am in the Grand Rapids area.

Z

Dana

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2010, 07:36:13 PM »
Hi Zinger, thanks for the warm welcome!  I live about 1/2 an hour from Ann Arbor in a little town called Tecumseh.

I love the beautiful picture of your house!  I heard Grand Rapids is a great place.  Kinda like a bible belt area, but I've never been there.

How long have you been making cheeses?

Dana

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 01:26:47 AM »
Welcome aboard Dana!
Congrats on the access to all that wonderful raw milk. Stick around awhile you'll be making all sort of cheeses!

Zinger

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 02:39:46 PM »
Ah, you are within striking diustance of Zingerman's - lucky you. I have only been doing this addicitive activity for about a year. The house is actually in the Northport area. We go there on weeekends and are slowly, very slowly, rehabbing it. It has never had indoor plumbbing - kind of a throw back to a simpler (yeah right) time. Any way, welcome and we all hope to hear from you on a regular basis.

FarmerJd