Author Topic: Tricks to Waxing?  (Read 4358 times)

Offline Lennie

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
  • Default personal text
Tricks to Waxing?
« on: January 16, 2010, 04:33:12 AM »
I waxed my small cheddar wheel this evening and it was a bit messy and didn't come out looking quite as smooth as I wanted.  Are there any tips for doing this?

Quesa

Re: Tricks to Waxing?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2010, 01:54:28 PM »
Lennie, I've had the same problem.

I brush the wax, but it hardens so fast that I end up with a "Martian landscape" instead of a smooth cheese surface.

I am not good at crafting mechanical things, so I will try something simple next time. Maybe deep half in and after that half dries then dunk the other half.

There are good suggestions on waxing in another thread.

:)

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2010, 06:31:03 PM »
The only way I could brush on wax and get it semi smooth was to do it on the oven rack with the oven on. If you spill it it will make a mess!

Tea

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2010, 08:35:18 PM »
http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,277.0.html

This is a thread that I posted ages ago on how I wax my cheeses.  I don't though use the initial plastic coating anymore, and I don't find that I have any problem with the wax not adhering to the cheese.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2010, 09:17:11 PM »
I could not find that thread! Tea to the rescue ....

iratherfly

« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2010, 01:06:08 AM »