Author Topic: Cheesecloth - Cheese Sticking Problem  (Read 11435 times)

judec

Cheesecloth - Cheese Sticking Problem
« on: January 20, 2010, 11:31:12 PM »
Hi everyone,
I have been making cheese for family for about 3 years and have never had it stick to the cloth and pull big lumps off when removing cloth when cheese is finished pressing.  It has now happened twice in a row.  Any brilliant ideas as to why??

Thanks,
Jude.

linuxboy

Re: Cheesecloth - Cheese Sticking Problem
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 11:46:47 PM »
The acidity/calcium level of the cloth may be different from cheese (soak cloth in whey beforehand), or the cloth is older and has too many protein particles attached to it (use a new cloth). Might also be the milk, in which case try to flip more often so the cloth isn't embedded in the cheese.

iratherfly

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 08:17:16 AM »
I used to have similar problem when I ripened semi-soft yogurt cheeses using a generic low thread count cheesecloth. The problem dissapeared when I upgraded to flour sack cloth and butter muslins.

Funny thing is, I saw your post not even 30 minutes after reading a blog post of a fantastic Brooklyn cheesemaker who talks about how he forget that cheesecloth regularly get stuck when he makes Alpine style cheeses. What type of cheese did you make? He blamed in on the cheesecloth quality too. Perhaps different cheeses deserve different cheese cloths.
http://heinennellie.blogspot.com/2009/05/cheesecloth-stuck.html

Sailor Con Queso

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 04:17:40 PM »
The problem is probably not the cheesecloth. It's the acidity &/or calcium levels in the cheese. See Linuxboy's post above.

linuxboy

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 04:42:26 PM »
Here's the detailed explanation: