Author Topic: SMALL COMMERCIAL GOAT CHEESE MAKING - RECOMMENDATIONS  (Read 16859 times)

Ocean View Cheese Maker

SMALL COMMERCIAL GOAT CHEESE MAKING - RECOMMENDATIONS
« on: January 22, 2010, 05:37:17 PM »
Hi,
 I am totally new to Goat cheese making.  I am in the process of setting up a plant. Would need some advice or recommendation on - Building size, equipment required (what size pasteurizer/Vat), etc.

What I can tell you is that I will be processing the milk from 25 goats ( about 12-15 gallons / day). Planning on doing cheese products every 2 days.

Any advice, information, recommendation, would be welcome.

Thanks from beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada,
Louis

RadioFlyer

Re: SMALL COMMERCIAL GOAT CHEESE MAKING - RECOMMENDATIONS
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2010, 02:18:24 AM »
Hi Louis. I don't know if you've ever seen this website but they just built a goat dairy. I'm sure they'd be happy to offer some advice with your venture. http://www.goddardfarm.com
What little bit of goat cheese I've been making has been wonderful! And now my girls are dry until end of March. *pout*

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2010, 04:24:15 AM »
Hello Louis and welcome to the forum!

I'm only a hobby cheesemaker, but most recommendations I've seen are to get and read this book and for small commercial, concentrate on one or two cheeses and get them down perfect, rather than trying all sorts of cheeses.

Here is some info on cheese caves.

Otherwise, I'd say use the Search function of this forum and learn learn and practice practice.

Of course all the normal rules and regs.

Good luck!

FRANCOIS

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2010, 05:07:20 AM »
The smallest legal vat in the US (commercially made, not custom) is 50 gallons.  If you are making cheese every other day, you'll need to pasteurize.  If you can sell fresh cheese for a descent price, start off that way.  You get better yields (more moisture) and don't need expertise or equipment to age it.