Author Topic: Hello From Alaska!  (Read 4053 times)

ddcurtis

Hello From Alaska!
« on: January 28, 2010, 08:20:10 PM »
Hi to all of you from the frigid north. I've been making cheese for a few years now, but only recently in Alaska after moving here last year. Any other people here from the 49th state?

For anyone who lives up here and is interested in cheesemaking, there a number of small dairy farms who sell 'cow shares' so that we can legally get whole raw milk. I get mine from Libby Farm in Kenny Lake. Great people, superior milk.

I just made a Pepper Jack last night, and now am going to start a Manchego. Currently aging a Washed Cheddar, three Camemberts, four Coulommiers, a Muenster, a Stilton and a 'hybrid' Queso Blanco sprayed with white mold....yummy!

Thanx for the great site, everyone.
Dave

FarmerJd

Re: Hello From Alaska!
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 08:33:59 PM »
Welcome to the forum.

Brie

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 12:35:59 AM »
Welcome 49'er! Please let us know about the hybrid queso!

wharris

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 02:45:54 AM »
I love AK!.   

Cheese Head

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2010, 02:46:58 PM »
Welcome Dave, looking forward to your posts, I'm in Houston but my brother's family lives just down the coast from you in Canada's Queen Charlotte Islands (Haida Gwaii).

wharris

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2010, 06:05:08 PM »
Not sure where you are from, But one of my favorite restaurants is 'The Double Muskie Inn' in Girdwood AK.

That is about 22 miles south of Anchorage.

Cheesetart

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 01:03:41 AM »
Welcome!! 

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2010, 08:55:56 AM »
Welcome aboard Dave. Always wanted to see Alaska.

Tea

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2010, 08:39:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum Dave.

ddcurtis

« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2010, 12:39:08 AM »
Thank you for the cheesy welcome! Geez, I suck...