Author Topic: Hello from New Jersey  (Read 1570 times)

dhenninger

Hello from New Jersey
« on: February 20, 2010, 03:06:17 AM »
Hello from New Jersey! I am new to home cheese making. I have made 2 batches so far (1 farmhouse cheddar and 1 Colby). I have some previous dairy experience in college. Penn State Food Science grad. But it has been quite a while.

I have had a limited success with the first two batches. They do seem to have an open texture and too much acid development. I am going to try another batch this weekend with less starter culture and maybe a few other modifications.

If anyone has some ideas for help, I am all ears. Thanks!!

FarmerJd

Re: Hello from New Jersey
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 04:47:53 AM »
Welcome to the forum. Open texture could be a pressing issue among other things. Give the details of your process and I am sure someone will be able to help. This is a great group to learn from. Your food science degree should come in handy. Good luck.

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 03:25:41 PM »
Welcome!

A small amount of open texture is not bad, a lot is as location for unwanted micro-organisms. Do you have excessive syneresis and your curds too hard? A picture would help.

Also why do you think your cheeses have too much acid development?

dhenninger

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 07:31:41 PM »
Texture, looks like there are many holes in the cheese, kind of like the curds did not come together.

Too much acid, cheese has a sour taste to it. It does not have a strong acid smell, so I thought it might be over development of lactic acid.

I am making a new batch of Colby right now. I am going to try a little less culture and a little shorter ripening time.  I think I will check the pH next time, to keep an eye on things.

I might not have cut the curd fine enough.  There seemed to be more curds than would fit easily in the mold that I have.

Pressed with 20lb, then 50lb for 12 hours.