Author Topic: Newbie Cheese Making Questions  (Read 3646 times)

umgowa

Newbie Cheese Making Questions
« on: February 20, 2010, 04:00:46 PM »
I am completely new to cheese making.  from what I've read on the internet and this forum it looks like the first thing I need to get is a cheese press.  I found one by Schmidling company that costs about $70.00.  It says it allows you to adjust the pressure.  So I guess I'll get a press then get some rennet from the same on line source.  Once I get these two things, I'll get some milk and just follow a recipe I found on line or a simple recipe from this forum.  Is there anything I'm missing? or is there any advice you more experienced cheese makers can give me?  My plan is to get on top of the basic process first and then adjust my procedure to make specific cheeses like cheddar, brie, Gouda, etc.  Am I approaching this right?   I certainly appreciate any help in this early stage of my cheese making.

linuxboy

Re: Newbie Cheese Making Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 04:21:13 PM »
Just IMHO, I know this is a little controversial, but you need a cheese press only if you are making milled curd cheddar or a similar cheese that requires a lot of pressure to fuse the curd. Most other cheeses will fuse with no issues at 50-100 lbs of weight. They may require more time in the press, but they turn out well.

If I was just starting out and wanted to build up my confidence, I would buy a basic tomme mold that is 6" or 8" in diameter and either use heavy cans for weight or bricks or weights or something similar around the house or could be bought cheap from a thrift store. The tomme mold is very versatile, inexpensive, and you can make many hard cheeses with it.

Although you can make great cheese using buttermilk and yogurt as starter cultures, it's also easier to use DVI when starting out. Consider buying a few small sachets. Oh and don't forget some cheesecloth.