Author Topic: My first (attempted) Mozz- NEED HELP  (Read 4664 times)

iwantthegold

My first (attempted) Mozz- NEED HELP
« on: February 26, 2010, 08:47:31 PM »
To all ye glorious mozz makers:

Ok... so i am new to the cheese making world... and this only my second attempt at any cheese so I thought I would swing for the fences.

I am looking for a little help here...

So I followed the recipe on the forum.. save for the rennet taking too long for a clean break and the curd taking a bit too long to come up to temp (20 min or so longer than recipe says), everything went pretty well. Until I got to the spinning stage.

I found somewhere that you can test if you are ready to spin by dropping in a small bit of curd into the 170F water and seeing if it stretched for itself... well it didn't... so I gave it another 20 minutes to heat the curds and then I poured the pot of water into the pot of curds.... 5 minutes of eager mashing and pushing with the two wooden spoons later and... nothing but a big pot of cottage cheese without the nice texture.  I have a feeling this is where many fail and I am not sure that my pH meter is at all accurate.

To back-track... I talked to a chef who also failed at this in the past... and he saw my curd and said that it looked and felt just like the store bought mozz curd that he got in one time. 

So trying not to give up (although I knew it was futile)... I got a new pot and heated the curds back up to even more distasterous results... so now I have about a 1.5 lbs ball of particle cheese curd being held together by nothing more than a tightly wound piece of cheese cloth.

Please offer any and all sageful pieces of advice... it's been a long day and I am going to nap but I appreciate them nonetheless

Ethan

MrsKK

Re: My first (attempted) Mozz- NEED HELP
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2010, 11:06:00 PM »