Author Topic: Seeking a cheese recommendation to go with my recipe for cheese/fruit/nut/melt  (Read 3096 times)

sundance

Hi- I'm a cheese newbie and am looking for any suggestions to add to my recipe for a fruit nut and cheese dip for baguette and crackers.  I'm using Brie as my main cheese, but would like to add one other to complement the dish. In a pyrex baking dish I add brie chunks, mango sauce, some pineapple chunks, roasted pistachios, and roasted pine nuts. I cover and heat for about 10 minutes until cheese is melted. It's really quite tasty and people love it. Again, I'm interested in adding a second cheese to the melt to complement the brie. Anyone have any suggestions? Thank you kindly in advance.

Cheese Head

Hi sundance and welcome to this forum!

Sounds like a fun recipe and would love to know the details (& possibly pictures :)) as I've started making Camembert which is very similar to Brie. We've got a Favourite Recipes board here (where reg has posted a Brie & Leek Pizza recipe I need to try).

I'm finding it hard to think of something as Brie is already quite a distinguished flavour. It's not strong so you wouldn't want lots of a very strong cheese otherwise it will dominate it. I built a page on Brie here and there are some manufactured flavoured Brie's listed that may give you an idea. Also, how about a small amount of a swiss Emmenthal or Gruyere type cheese?

Also, a little while ago I did take a few pictures of cake type Brie's for sale in our local store here in Houston that I've been meaning to make, should provide you with some ideas. I've just posted them in our Favorite Recipes section for all to find.

Again welcome . . .
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 03:06:47 PM by Cheese Head »

Tea