Author Topic: Cheese vs Wine vs Beer Making  (Read 4717 times)

umgowa

Cheese vs Wine vs Beer Making
« on: March 07, 2010, 09:12:00 AM »
I debated whether to make cheese, wine, or beer . . . and after reading some books I have decided to make cheese because it appears to me that of the three areas, cheese-making involves a wider margin of error.  Yes, there are technical hoops to jump through in cheese-making, but those hoops are not as narrow and demanding as with wine and beer-making.  It's not as difficult to come up with an edible final cheese product as it is a good wine or beer product.   I would ask any of you cheese-making experts here if that conclusion is correct.   Thanks.

Cheese Head

Re: Cheese vs Wine vs Beer Making
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2010, 12:59:37 PM »
Hi ungowa, welcome.

Good question, while I used to make beer and wine with my Dad when young, I'm no expert. I've made a lot of poor cheese, but I've also drunk a lot of rough beer and wine ;D, however I think you are right. Except for fresh cheeses, all three take maturing time to tell. The bad news is that I think per equivalent volume (1 kg cheese = 6 botles wine?), cheese takes more care and attention, the good news is that with cheese, when you get poor results, it is with smaller batches than typical wine or beer is made in.

Have fun!

wharris

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2010, 01:51:48 PM »
I would argue that both wine making and cheese making are both exercises in delayed gratification. 

But what a great question. The discussion of the relative margins of error could be a discussion that never ends...

I would start this way;  When starting with raw materials, one cannot help but turn grape juice into wine,  (Wine just kinda happens)  while milk  tends  to rot  rather than go to cheese.

But if you divide both activities up into production, and aging the discussion gets more interesting.