Author Topic: American Neufchatel - Recipe Clarifications  (Read 6582 times)

umgowa

American Neufchatel - Recipe Clarifications
« on: March 12, 2010, 08:16:04 PM »
I am brand new to Cheese making.  The book I'm reading tells me a good first cheese would be neufchatel.   I don't like cottage cheese, so I selected neufchatel as the easiest that I would like to eat.  I have 2 questions about the recipe.  1)  It calls for 4 tablespoons of fresh cultured buttermilk.  My question is:  can I use low fat  fresh cultured buttermilk?  2) the recipe says to disolve the rennet into the milk and hold at 85 degrees.  Then it says the  Milk should coagulate in 16 to 18 hours.  Does this mean I have to keep this milk mixture sitting on my turned on stove for 16 to 18 hours?    Keep my stove turned on for 16 to 18 hours?  ???

padams

Re: American Neufchatel - Recipe Clarifications
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2010, 09:57:50 PM »
Neufatchel is supposed to be easy, but I tried to make some last week and ended up with a gallon of rotten milk.....but I tried some fromage blanc, and it seems to be good....what i did was purchased a neoprene "weight loss belt" from walmart and wrapped my pot, kept in the oven overnight, and turned the oven to "warm" 2 or 3 times.  I think the neoprene belt really helps, but a thick towel would probably accomplish the same thing.  Good luck!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2010, 02:33:02 AM »
There are two type of Neufchatel American style (cream cheese like) and French type more of a brie/camembert type thing. Which are you trying to make?

umgowa

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2010, 02:58:50 AM »
There are two type of Neufchatel American style (cream cheese like) and French type more of a brie/camembert type thing. Which are you trying to make?