Author Topic: Mozzarella Attempt #3 - HELP!  (Read 4646 times)

making mozzerella

Mozzarella Attempt #3 - HELP!
« on: March 13, 2010, 02:45:29 PM »
Total newbie to cheese making, cheeseforum, cheese everything!  But I'm excited about making fresh mozzarella and I am determined despite a couple failures already. 
My first 2 attempts yielded a mass of mushy goo but I am going to keep moving forward!

I do not have citric acid (yet - just ordered some from amazon.com)
I only have store bought, organic, whole milk - can't find source for raw milk.
I am using my slow cooker and a electric probe thermometer
I have a cup of plain Stonybrook Farms yogurt and some Buttermilk.  I know many posts mention Dannon Plain but it was not available in my market so I got Stonybrook organic lowfat yogurt and it doesn't say anything about active cultures on the packaging - but I thought it would be fine.
I have liquid rennet.
I do not have any Calcium Chloride (where do you find this? and citric acid? )

So here I go.  I'm starting again with a small "test" batch before I ruin another gallon of milk.  I'm starting with a half gallon and heating it to 90F.
The last time, I started with a half gallon, heated to 90F.  I added 2 tablespoons of yogurt and 2 tablespoons of cultured buttermilk.  I let it sit for 1 hour at about 88-94F and then I added 10 drops of liquid rennet (diluted in just a teaspoon of tap water).  The covered pot sat overnight and when I got up the next morning to test for a "clean break" all I got was a "dirty, slimy break."
This time I will add 3 tablespoons of the yogurt (after reading that this is the thermophilic starter that I need), I will dilute the rennet in bottled water (no Chlorine) - and use a bit more water when diluting it.  I will also stir in the rennet for a couple minutes as opposed to just a quick stir like I did last time.