Author Topic: Lemon Juice Coagulated Goat's Milk Cheese - Small Yield  (Read 5556 times)

pam kendrick

Lemon Juice Coagulated Goat's Milk Cheese - Small Yield
« on: March 25, 2010, 05:21:10 PM »
Hi!  Today I attempted a goat cheese.  I've never tried anything like it before so I am unsure of my results.  I used 1/2 gallon whole goats milk, heated to 185, the juice of 1 very large lemon and 1/2 tsp kosher salt.  I ended up with a bag of cheese about the size of my fist.  Is this ALL I should have gotten from a gallon of milk?  I used a yard of cheese cloth to strain, should I have used 2 or more? 

padams

Re: Lemon Juice Coagulated Goat's Milk Cheese - Small Yield
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 07:25:25 PM »
Welcome to board, Pam!

I have never been able to use goat's milk, so I am no help, but I thought I would welcome you anyway!
I am sure you will get an answer to your question....there are lots of goat milkers here!

Knoal

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 07:36:24 PM »
I haven't tried an acid coagulated, but keep trying.

I had 4 attempts before I got an actual cheese wheel. (use cheap milk while learning)

Knoal

MrsKK

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2010, 10:13:00 PM »
Regarding the cheesecloth you used - was it the craft-type that is like gauze?  I drain my cheese through muslin that I buy in the fabric store.

What did the whey look like?  Milky or fairy clear - greenish colored?  If milky, it means that the cheesecloth let too much of the curd through, which is what I'm expecting happened, since you got such a low yield.

How did it taste?  Not relevant to the yield question, just curious!

MarkShelton

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2010, 11:18:05 PM »