Author Topic: To any goat owners out there  (Read 1824 times)

SANDQ

To any goat owners out there
« on: March 25, 2010, 06:07:48 PM »
Calling any goat owners out there, Hi, we are S and Q English expats in Bulgaria although I worked with cows for many years Im new to goats so any advice on making goat milk cheddar would be very welcome thanks    :-\

linuxboy

Re: To any goat owners out there
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 06:56:17 PM »
For the milk:
- Chill as quickly as possible. You want some caproic and caprilic acids for flavor, but if you don't chill and have sanitary practices, it will be very evident in the milk. Don't want your cheese tasting like a goat's butt :P
- If pasteurizing, do it in a batch at 145. Better flavor that way, or use raw milk.

For the cheese:
- The curds are more delicate. Which breeds do you have? Because this is not always true. Like my Nigerian hybrids for example make for a very solid curd.
- May need to use just a touch, 5-10% more rennet, and depending on season, CaCl2 for better curd formation
- Healing is a must. Min 5 mins. On many recipes, I like to cut large bits, heal, then re-cut to proper curd size, and heal again for a shorter time. This is to give the curds a chance to firm up.

Rest is the same. May need to adjust cheddaring time, again depending on milk, if the proteins are higher. Need more salt if the fat content is higher than cows.

In the end, it's very similar. Biggest deal is to treat the curds more gently.

SANDQ

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 08:23:34 AM »