Author Topic: Brining Cheese In Very Acidic Brine - Cracked!  (Read 3631 times)

Iqbal

Brining Cheese In Very Acidic Brine - Cracked!
« on: March 30, 2010, 08:47:01 AM »
Hello,

Newbie here.

Tried to make my first Parmesan yesterday. Used 6L of milk (equal parts of skim and full cream milk) and pressed it for 12 hours at 10Kg. However, after I left it in the brine for about 2 hours it cracked all over the place.

I read cheese might crack during air drying or caving due to lack of moisture, but this one cracked when it was under water.

What did I do wrong? Is there still any hope for this cheese or should I throw this away and start over?

Thank you for your advice.

Iqbal

MarkShelton

Re: Brining Cheese In Very Acidic Brine - Cracked!
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2010, 12:28:31 PM »
Strange... I  have never seen that before. Was the rind fully closed before you put it in the brine?

Iqbal

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2010, 01:06:20 PM »
Hi Mark,

Yes the rind was fully closed and firm. It also smelt very nice actually.

I pressed it for 12 hours. Was this not long enough and possibly the reason why it cracked?

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2010, 09:34:10 PM »
Iqbal, good question and interesting problem, sorry but I don't make parms, how firm was the cheese after pressing hard firm or springy-soft? Also do the surface pieces feel hard from shrinking or soft from swelling in the brine?

The only surface cracking I've had is from drying too quickly or shear cracks when placing in brine, you have neither of those. Sorry can't help more.

FRANCOIS

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2010, 09:36:37 PM »
Please post your brine recipe.  Most likely that is your issue.  Pressing parm for 12 hours is more than sufficient.

Iqbal

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2010, 04:03:32 PM »