Author Topic: Cheddar Problems & Merry Christmas From The Adirondacks, USA!  (Read 1564 times)

ADKchef

Okay, so I know it's not Christmas, but I woke up this morning to find snow on the ground, and it hasn't quit yet.  Looking at the pine trees in my front yard makes me wish I hadn't taken my lights down. . . .

I've been lurking for awhile.  While I don't have my own dairy animals, the goal is to raise a few goats for milk and fiber; with any luck, I'll be ready for them next summer.  And being as I'm also a hobby winemaker with nothing to ferment this time of the year, I decided to start making cheese so I know what I'm doing when I do have dairy goats.
I've made acid coagulated cheeses in the past (my diploma says I'm a chef, but my work-life begs to differ).  I love cheddar so I decided to take a stab at that.  On average, when starting something new, I like to fail about three times before I actively ask for help.
Attempt number one:  I used a recipe from a book that gave a variation for making hard cheese and cheddar without rennet.  It failed.
Attempt number two:  I used the same recipe but used rennet.  I over acidulated my milk and it curdled before the rennet was even added.  I contribute this to problems with the recipe, my miss understanding of the recipe, and a little stupidity; whether mine or the author's, I'm not sure.  I was able to turn it into a ricotta-like product; it made a nice lasagna.
Attempt number three:  I used the cheddar recipe posted in the recipe section of this site.  The cheese is in the press right now, but I don't think it's working.  I'm up to 40 lbs of pressure and it's given up very little whey--and yet, the curd is very wet.

Well, that's my story.  I'm not giving up yet.
Thanks for reading!

MarkShelton

Re: Cheddar Problems & Merry Christmas From The Adirondacks, USA!
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 01:20:58 AM »