Author Topic: Ghee Making Talk & Hi From NZ  (Read 5406 times)

SwissBrowns

Ghee Making Talk & Hi From NZ
« on: May 26, 2009, 09:46:58 PM »
Hi. I'm new to cheese making and look forward to being able to come here for advice. I have my own herd of 100 or so cows, mostly Guernsey and Brown Swiss, and in the last few months, since the economic downturn started to make itself felt, we have started using our own milk. Before that we used to by pasteurised milk from the supermarket, but now we drink fresh milk, and I make butter, and ghee which I use instead of oils and fats in cooking. And the next step is cheese which I haven't started on yet, but will soon. I've been a dairy farmer for 20 years and was raised on a dairy farm, but it's only recently that I've really started to appreciate just what place cows have held in human existence throughout history. Our farm is run as a closed system with no feed inputs, the cows just graze grass all year, fortunately we have a mild climate and reliable grass growth.

Cheese Head

Re: Ghee Making Talk & Hi From NZ
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 11:25:58 PM »
Howdy SwissBrowns, several Kiwi's here already, and a few of members own cows but I think not on your commercial scale. Lots of info here on making cheese but not so much on butter and ghee!

I work in the oil industry and when young thought that strange that oil companies buy gas/petrol from the station just like you used to buying milk from the store. Also, similar to oil and what we get paid versus price of gas/petrol, my commiserations on what you are getting these days for milk as store price where I am in Houston is very low.

That said looking forward to your new hobby, with your supply, who knows it could one day become a business!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 03:09:42 AM »
Welcome aboard! Cows are wonderful critters I wish I could have a few...

MrsKK