Author Topic: My method of making yogurt  (Read 9124 times)

oriboaz

My method of making yogurt
« on: May 13, 2010, 07:37:10 PM »
Hi all,

I am a newbie to this site, and a newcomer to cheese making. I have, however, been making my own yogurt for several years now. It all started when I was living in San Diego and bought, on a whim, a Salton yogurt maker. This set me off on a yogurt-making journey. My first few batches were not consistent, but since then I have perfected my method, which I will detail here.

For making yogurt, I use 1 liter of milk (I like to use 1%, low-fat, milk), and 1 tbsp of culture from the previous batch. Since I don't sterilize my equipment, I use a new store-bought culture every few months. When living in the US, my favorite yogurt to use as culture was Trader Joe's "French Village" yogurt.
I do not use powdered milk. Many recipes suggest adding it, but I find it completely unnecessary. I get a thick yogurt without using powdered milk.

1. I heat the milk to 185F. I do this in a pyrex jug, in the microwave. I have done this so many times, that I know for my microwave this amounts to 9 minutes of heating. In my first few batches I used to stop the microwave and stir every couple of minutes in fear that the milk might run over, but I no longer do this. I found that the milk behaves well.
2. I leave the milk, in the microwave, for about 2 hours. It is important to let the milk stay hot for about 10-20 minutes at least to denature the milk proteins. Otherwise, the yogurt won't be thick. After about 2 hours in the microwave, the milk will have cooled down to 114F. Again, in the past I used to measure the temperature to make sure, but I have done this so many times that I no longer need to check the temperature. I do regulate myself every so often, but it's pretty consistent.