Author Topic: Can I make a starter from raw cow's milk?  (Read 5551 times)

momdrinkstea

Can I make a starter from raw cow's milk?
« on: May 15, 2010, 12:16:24 AM »
Newbie here y'all!
I have a supply of raw cow's milk from a neighbor, and wondered if I could use it to make a starter?  Can I use the raw milk to make buttermilk and then use that as a starter, and if so, how?  Any tips would be super!  Thanks!

-virgin cheese-maker  :)

mtncheesemaker

Re: Can I make a starter from raw cow's milk?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 02:00:03 AM »
Hi,
I used a meso starter to culture cream for making cultured butter. What's left from the butter making is cultured buttermilk. That you can use as a starter for cheese. (meso type) (And then use a tablespoon for your next batch of cultured cream/butter.)
You can also just leave the cream out at room temp to sour on its own from the naturally occurring bacteria. I haven't done this but I think it should work fine. Then you can make the butter and save the buttermilk.
Pam

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2010, 02:03:04 AM »
You could also make clabber. Mrs KK has a thread here somewhere ...

MrsKK

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2010, 12:45:07 PM »
Here's the link to the thread: http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,1927.msg14271.html#msg14271

I use clabber for mesophilic starter, but use yogurt for thermophilic.

Good luck and let us know how your cheeses turn out.

Alex

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2010, 12:38:20 PM »
Karen, in the case of using clabber as a starter, you do not use rennet at all?
You said on another thread to use 1 cup/5 gal. Making some conversions to metric units, I've got about 2.5 ts/1 liter or quart. Does it make sense?

MrsKK

« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2010, 01:53:12 PM »
For most of my cheeses, I do use rennet as well as the clabber.  Clabber is really just mesophilic culture.