Author Topic: Cheese Making - Initial Materials & Equipment Order  (Read 6672 times)

Firkin

Cheese Making - Initial Materials & Equipment Order
« on: May 18, 2010, 04:14:45 PM »
Hi all,

Sorry im not sure which was the best place to post this topic as it covers a few boards so here it goes.

I am completely new to artisan cheese making, I live in South Africa(are there any others on here?) and below is some of the equipment/supplies I will be purchasing. My aim is to start on soft cheeses but soonish move onto harder. The only resource ive had is the net and this forum.

1. I have a dedicated cave(fridge freezer) with which to age the cheese.

2. Press - I have convinced a friend to build a dutch press for me based on this design(http://media.photobucket.com/image/dutch%20cheese%20press/psc2210/cheesepress.jpg) however it will be made of galvanised square tubes and flat bar. it will be man enough for some serious pressure but will it be to heavy for most cheese kinds i.e. the arm will weigh about 1 kgs ?

3. Ingredients - I will be purchasing my ingredients/equipment from this website(http://www.finestkind.co.za/) - Do i need hoops, or are moulds enough? i will order 3 kinds of DVS cultures, rennet(microbial & animal), calcium chloride, wax, baby gouda mould, 2 cheese moulds, cheese cloth and a thermometer. I have large stainless steel pots at home.

Am I good to get started with the above, as due to delivery its more cost effective to adds additional bits now?

I have a lots of questions but I am just trying to make sure I spend my money getting the right equipment etc to start out with.

Any comments would be seriously appreciated.

Thanks

Shawn

MarkShelton

Re: Cheese Making - Initial Materials & Equipment Order
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 07:08:33 PM »