Author Topic: Selling Homemade Cheeses  (Read 7606 times)

dr chedder

Selling Homemade Cheeses
« on: May 31, 2010, 06:34:33 PM »
 hi all first time on a cheese board so bear with me :P

a few questions i have.

ive been making cheese for some years now chedder mainly but made a few others. iv'e been wanting to have my own little business for some time now just for some extra income i work full time so i dont need to make huge amount just alittle and also as a little hobbie.

i currenly have a food and hygiene cert level 2 from when i used to be a chef. is that good enough? to allow me to make and sell my cheese to the public? i understand that i also need some kind of dairy cert or at least be registered as a dairy producer? if this is the case i guess they would have to come round to where my cheese is made...... this is my house would there be any problem there is it possible to get a house registered to make dairy products?

if all went well and i ended up with cheese witch was ready to be sold where are the best places to sell them of course there is farmers markets but who else? i was thinking maybe village shops in my local pub? do any of you have anymore ideas on where?

ive got a few special cheese ideas
i am thinking about so that could be a selling point

finally if anyone has  any ideas tips or hints that would be cool

thank you all

dc

mtncheesemaker

Re: Selling Homemade Cheeses
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 03:10:07 PM »
Hi and welcome to the forum.
I think your first step might be to check out local regulations governing food processing and sales to the public. There are probably rules, depending on where you live, about the milk source, pasteurization or cheese aging and the facility where the cheese is made and stored.
Good luck,
Pam

iratherfly

Re: Selling Homemade Cheeses
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 07:15:17 PM »