Author Topic: To "bulk" or not to "bulk"  (Read 2041 times)

Chalou

To "bulk" or not to "bulk"
« on: June 09, 2010, 01:18:06 PM »
Hello cheese lovers, I really like the forum, you're all so passionate!

Maybe there is something I don't understand... I need your comments on a project I have.

2 years ago, I decided to go frugal/self-sustainable kind of life. "Drop out" from the professional world, I've wanted to start my own business. I'm pretty good with finding great deals and always wondering why some products are so expensive. For instance, "Fleischman" yeast at the grocery store is so expensive compared to other brand available at some specialized stores that it is almost frustrating.

So, that's what I want to do, I want to host a website (I'm a programmer), giving information about how to make bread, cheese, sprout, garden, livestock, etc... But most of all, I want to be able to sell products at a fair price (frugal life means less money available).

For the cheese part, I've found the same dealers as you all use, like Diary Connection, Glengarry, Leeners, etc.

When it comes to decide on the cultures I want to sell, I'm torn between the price on individual package and bigger "bulk" package.

For instance, Glengarry's propionic bacteria are 15.95/25g or 30.85/100g. Let's say I slit the 100g into 10g packages.

1) It will cost 3.85/10g. That’s huge saving! And I don't mean just for me, but for my customers too. Because that’s the point, I don't want a bigger margin, I want to sell cheaper so everyone can try some cheese making at home (even smaller batch).

2) There is no way I can use a 25g package anyway (good for 2500 liters of milk). Even if I'm very very motivated :)

3) If I have a 25g pack and I store it in my freezer, it will be less fresh after 2 years than if I've bought 2 smaller packs.

My questions are:

1) There is a problem about buying bulk and selling in smaller pack?
2) Would you buy a re-packed culture?