Author Topic: Cheese - Crumbly?  (Read 1568 times)

tally

Cheese - Crumbly?
« on: July 01, 2010, 11:10:22 PM »
 I'm new to cheese making and recently have made some nicely eatable cheese. However, all of them (Gouda, cheddar, Monterrey Jack) are all crumbly. In addition they mostly taste the same; in other words no real difference in taste between cheddar, Gouda and Monterrey jack. Also, there is a slight metallic after taste. I'm using liquid calf rennet, store bought whole (cream line) milk with Ca Cl diluted in distilled water and Ricki Carroll's mesophilic starter. I use stainless steel utensils and pot and am very carefull with sterilizing and cleanliness. I press each cheese according to the Ricki Carroll recipe recommendation. Don't get me wrong, these cheeses are perfectly palatable. I just think that jack should taste distinctively jack-like and Gouda should be different from jack and be more like Gouda than jack. Any suggestions about what I might be doing wrong? Should I try a different starter? I don't have access to raw milk :'( so am using the local whole past/homo. I've tried different variations and am keeping good notes. The cheese has gradually improved, so I am making some progress. Thanks for any help.

linuxboy

Re: Cheese - Crumbly?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 11:26:25 PM »
What is your pH at cut and whey drain? If you can't measure that, how much culture are you using and:

-how long are you ripening before adding rennet
- how long are you waiting before cutting curd
- How long are you cooking the curd

Sorry, I threw away her book years ago so I don't recall the details in those makes. You're using this?

http://www.cheesemaking.com/store/p/135-Mesophilic-DS-5pack.html