Author Topic: Cheese cave  (Read 1436 times)

Offline cheesemoose

  • Young Cheese
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Cheese cave
« on: June 30, 2010, 12:54:05 PM »
When using a home refrigerator with an external thermostat what does the temp of the freezer do?


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline MarkShelton

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Cortland, IL
  • Posts: 378
  • Cheeses: 19
  • Aspiring vinter, hobby cheesemaker
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 07:47:25 PM »
I imagine it is like putting a thermostat in your house that controls both yours and your neighbor's house. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference in your house (refrigerator portion) but your neighbor (the freezer portion) might tell a different story. The fridge portion will be controlled as you desire, but the freezer will come on and off on the schedule determined by the fridge temperature.

It may keep a constant temperature. It could also very likely have huge fluctuations in temperature due to differences in insulation, surface area, volume, etc.

I'd say get yourself a thermometer, preferably one that records high and low temperatures and monitor it. I would be very interested in knowing myself what happens.

Or, if you know anything about appliance repair or electronics, you may be able to hook the external thermostat to just the refrigerator portion and keep the freezer as-is. Or get 2 external thermostats to make 2 different aging areas with different conditions for different cheese types. Personally, I am not electrically or mechanically inclined, so I don't know how to do it, how difficult it would be, or if it is even possible.
I am constantly in awe of the very first people that consumed these things, despite how funky looking and smelling they had become.

Offline cheesemoose

  • Young Cheese
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 08:35:36 PM »
I had hope someone out there was using a full size fridge and would know the answer

Offline mtncheesemaker(Pam)

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Paonia, CO
  • Posts: 677
  • Cheeses: 29
  • Default personal text
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 08:50:44 PM »
The instructions with my external thermostat said not to use the freezer portion of the refrigerator as you cannot assume it will maintain a freezing temp with the on/off cycling of the unit.
Pam

Offline Sailor Con Queso

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Posts: 2,539
  • Cheeses: 127
    • Boone Creek Creamery
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2010, 11:18:13 PM »
The external controller simply overrides the thermostat in the frig. I use on on a full size refigerator/freezer. The refrigerator stays at 55F +/- 1 degree. The freezer section is all over the place and definitely not good for freezing. In fact we keep sodas and water in the freezer compartment because it's REALLY cold but not freezing.
A moldy Stilton is a thing of beauty. Yes, you eat the rind. - Ed
www.boonecreekcreamery.com


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline cheesemoose

  • Young Cheese
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2010, 01:34:11 PM »
Thank you for info glad it will be good for something

Offline JohnnyBHammerer

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: OC California
  • Posts: 35
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Mmmmm cheese
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2010, 11:55:03 AM »
On some models you can cut a passage between the compartments so they both have the controlled temp.  That's kinda of a permanent modification.
BMC: beer, mead, cheese: make your own.

Offline Minamyna

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Lander, WY
  • Posts: 198
  • Cheeses: 3
  • This text is cheesy.....
Re: Cheese cave
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2010, 07:37:23 PM »
My old fridge I got has a a styrofoam divider between the fridge and freezer thats about 3" by 4" in was thinking about taking it out and putting the temp sensor in the bottom of the freezer part and setting it for the lowest temp i might need (like 45 degrees) and then the fridge side would be a little warmer.

Good idea? Bad idea?