Author Topic: Waxing - Can You Rewax?  (Read 4179 times)

mcfly

Waxing - Can You Rewax?
« on: July 12, 2010, 04:53:06 PM »
Hi,
I have a gouda that I made 3 months ago which tastes ok but as I'm new to cheesemaking, I want to rewax and taste it in 2 months to see how the flavour develops. I didn't take the wax completely off the whole cheese, I just chopped about 1/3 lengthways off the cheese so rewaxing will be pretty straight forward.

Is it safe to rewax or should I use another method. Maybe once its been cut it will not carry on its maturing process?

Thanks!

Steve

Alex

Re: Waxing - Can You Rewax?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 04:57:24 PM »
I would peel all the wax and do the job again. The reason for it is the chance of catching some contamination and air trapped between the wax and the cheese, as I am sure the wax has separated from the cheese where you cut it.

mcfly

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 05:07:18 PM »
Thanks Alex
There wasn't any gap between the wax and the cheese as it was still a little soft. It's a goat cheese gouda recipe so I'm not sure if this made much difference to the consistency of the cheese compared to cow's milk? I was expecting it to be a little firmer to be honest which is why I want to give it another 2 months. I see you point regarding contamination though.

Gina

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2010, 05:30:48 PM »
I've rewaxed a few cheeses after 'needing' to sample or check, and dont think it's a problem. People who use vacuum sealers open and re-seal their cheeses, so why not waxers? Like Alex, I would tend to want to rewax the entire thing, but if the seal seems good on the edges, perhaps that's not necessary. Just keep watch for possible contamination.