Author Topic: My Second Colby  (Read 2774 times)

Mondequay

My Second Colby
« on: July 23, 2010, 03:27:44 AM »
First time posting but I've been stalking you all for a couple months and am so impressed with the knowledge base. I always check this forum first when I have a question.

So, my first colby was created with raw cow milk and was a tremendous success. I say that without even tasting it because it was easy and is oh so beautiful!

My second colby is in the making now and is quite a struggle. I used pasteurized, store bought milk about 15 days from it's last sell-by date. I used the same recipe (Christy's on dairygoatinfo.com) I waited close to 3 hours to get a 'dirty' break that was cut-able. Shortly thereafter the curd shattered and I am left with a lovely cottage cheese mess. I filled the mold, ate the excess -yummy!, and am pressing it now.

After an hour of pressing at 20 pounds this is still cottage cheese, just a little drier. Is there any hope, do you think?

Lesson learned - no more store bought milk for me!

Thanks, I welcome any comments.
Christine

Sailor Con Queso

Re: My Second Colby
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 03:44:31 AM »
Pasteurization and homogenization alter the calcium in the milk so you needed to add CaCl2 - Calcium Chloride, to correct the problem. The milk may also have been over pasteurized and not usable for cheesemaking. Stick with the raw milk if you can. Otherwise try the CaCl. If that doesn't help, change brands of milk. Do not use "organic" milk because they are usually ultra-pasteurized. Your best store bought  milk will be non-homogenized, low-temperature pasteurized.

Oh, and welcome to the forum. I love Colby.

Groves

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2010, 03:48:51 AM »
Is this the recipe from that site that you used?

Colby Cheese

Warm 2 gal milk and ½ c Buttermilk to 86*
Add 1 tea rennet to ½ c cool water, Stir well into cultured milk
Keep temp at 86* for 30 min. (place in a sink of 90* water)