Author Topic: Marking Pen for cheese?  (Read 7419 times)

Groves

Marking Pen for cheese?
« on: July 29, 2010, 09:36:00 PM »
I thought for sure I had seen it in the archives, but I can't find it now.

How do you folks mark cheeses that aren't waxed or vacuum sealed?

Chris K

Re: Marking Pen for cheese?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 03:46:30 PM »
For commercial or personal use? FOr commercial, and I'm just learning but around my area I am finding that food inspectors don't want anything touching the cheese that might be consumed. This includes residue from any sticky label and, I'd guess, inks, edible or otherwise.

Groves

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 04:14:53 PM »
Good thoughts on the commercial aspect. I'm thinking personal use. Is adhesive labels the way to go then?

tasteofcheese

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 08:19:51 PM »
If you get some cheese-wrapping paper (sort of like wax paper with a thin layer of plastic on one side) you could wrap the cheese and keep it closed with an adhesive label with the name. Then you don't have to mark right on the cheese.

Red Dragon

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2010, 10:03:47 PM »
I used a clean small paint brush and food coloring. Even after oil treatments of my rind ripened cheese, the writing still doesnt smear.

steampwr8

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2010, 10:43:50 PM »
I have these and they work okay;

http://cgi.ebay.com/Americolor-Gourmet-Writer-Food-Decorating-Pens-Black-/330456397387?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cf0bc764b

Ebay sellers have them in colors as well as black. They have a food coloring in them. The only thing I find bothersome is that the tip is more like a paintbrush or felt tip marker. It is kind of delicate.

cheezwhizz

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2010, 05:52:12 PM »