Author Topic: Mold Removal Before Waxing?  (Read 6985 times)

steve5000

Mold Removal Before Waxing?
« on: August 07, 2010, 01:36:47 PM »
I was wondering if i could ask you guys some advice.  I'm a newbie at this and as you can see this is my first post, so I'll start by saying hello, I'm Steve!

My question is regarding removing the mould from my cheese before I wax it.  My cheese is a week old now and has dried nicely.  It's time to wax it but I'm having trouble removing the mould with cheesecloth and salted water.  Its a nice looking white mould.

My question is how can a remove the mould without damaging the cheese?  I was thinking about using a new nail brush.  Would this be too abrasive?  I'm making a cheddar.

thanks!

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: Mold Removal Before Waxing?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 02:12:30 PM »
Hi Steve! Welcome.

How extensive is the mold? Any pictures available?

Depending on how much mold there is and how deep it extends into the paste, you may not be able to avoid some damage to the surface of the cheese. If rubbing gently with salt and vinegar isn't effective, you may try the side of a toothpick to gently scrape off the mold. If there are crevices, the toothpick can clean those too. Be gentle. Use the vinegar to moisten the area. When it's cleaned, sprinkle with some cheese salt. "Salt in the wound" as the saying goes.

A lot of times a clean-looking cheese will develop mold under wax so it is very important to ensure that you have removed all the mold before waxing. And the cheese should be DRY when you wax.

Good luck.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

berrys66

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2011, 09:10:45 AM »
Does the high temperature of the wax not provide some level of sterilization of the surface? When I wax the first coat goes on at a temperature of 120C/248F, second coat at 95C and third coat at 85C.

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese