Author Topic: age before smoking?  (Read 2086 times)

Laurels Crown

age before smoking?
« on: August 12, 2010, 04:22:11 AM »
Greetings!
I am a newbie in the cheesemaking world.  I have read all the posts regarding cold smoking cheese.  I have learned a lot - particularly about the color of the smoke.  I have been using the tin can/soldering iron smoker which we lovingly refer to as the "Bubba Smoker".  The smoking is being done in my weber kettle.

I have not seen the question directly answered regarding the age and condition of cheese before smoking.  I made a 4 lb. wheel of gouda this week and put it in to smoke (using applewood BBQ wood chips) after removing it from the brine.  The cheese is a lovely gold color but during the smoking it seemed to be very wet and now it appears kind of "slumpy".  The moisture did not seem to be oil.  After taking it out of the smoker after about an hour, it is now air drying at room temp.

So.................

1. What temperature should the cheese itself be at before starting the smoking?

2.  How old should the cheese be before smoking? straight out of the brine? air-dry rind? 1 or more months?

Thanks!

FRANCOIS

Re: age before smoking?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 11:27:45 PM »
The cheese should be as cold as possible (but not frozen).

The cheese should have a rind on it (1-2 months) before smoking or you'll get what you discovered, excessive weepage of fat and moisture.

Laurels Crown

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2010, 12:01:22 AM »
Thanks for the excellent advice!

Brie

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2010, 01:10:56 AM »
Francois--what about smoking fresh mozzarella? 2 months would be too long for that.

FRANCOIS

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2010, 03:25:31 AM »