Author Topic: Which cow breeds should I lean towards?  (Read 13692 times)

CdnMorganGal

Which cow breeds should I lean towards?
« on: August 15, 2010, 10:13:01 PM »
Living in Costa Rica, I'm limited re. available dairy breeds.  Presently I have 1 jersey (not quite pure-bred), one simmental (again not a purebred) and both produced gorgeous heifers from our extremely handsome Simbrah bull. I'm very new to cheesemaking (and bovine husbandry) and presently buying raw milk (Guerney and Jersey) from a neighbor.  What do you think I should be aiming towards, in the future?  Replace the Simbrah with another breed? Should I buy more jersey cows?  Should the present babies be bred to Jersey, Guerney or Holstein?

Another question - should I be using milk from only one breed or does it make much difference if the jersey and guerney milks get mixed together?  Or should I try and compare how the cheese might differ being made from one milk or the other?  Any and all help is greatly appreciated - Desiree (on a very steep learning curve LOL)

FarmerJd

Re: Which cow breeds should I lean towards?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 11:49:57 PM »
Several questions come to mind before I can give a good answer. First, how much milk do you want? how many cows are you going to want to milk? Any other factors you desire might be helpful to know.