Author Topic: Which cow breeds should I lean towards?  (Read 13707 times)

Tar

Re: Which cow breeds should I lean towards?
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2010, 05:21:28 PM »
well, Joe
I' am 6000 miles away and even in here I'm no expert!
If cheese is a goal and costs are important tnen Jersey is a winer! So Jeresy bull should solve the problem? 50% Jersey should adapt easy? and 75% will folow ?...............
There was corn(maize) silage mentioned. For some time shorgum is pushing corn out all ower the world. It has beter yeld with same costs or same yeld with lower costs. Great silage and it is great for green forage. It is drought resistant...........
By the way silage is not recomended when hard cheese is a goal ?

CdnMorganGal

« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2010, 02:31:31 AM »
Coffee Joe - Thank you - you've given a lot of good information - a bit of information overload actually LOL - but certainly points I will be mulling over as we develop our property and my cheesemaking skills!

Would love to see pictures of CdnMorganGal's  place.

Here ya go - 2 of them

CdnMorganGal

« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2010, 02:43:03 AM »
I don't need silage - even in the dry season our pastures are green.

We will be subdividing our pasture, eventually, and will look into replanting with the peanut/pea legumes. Poco a poco.  We've only had the property for 2 years and there is still a lot of basic stuff to do.

CoffeeJoe - why buy a pasteurizer when you can use what you have in the kitchen?  I also need to take into account the high electricity costs here - that's why we switched from an electric to gas stove.

coffee joe

« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2010, 03:11:29 PM »

As I expected, your place is identical topography to ours. And you don't need to worry about silage for less than 20 cows. A cow should however, have easy access to forage at least 20 cm/8" deep. Unlike a horse, a cow uses her tongue to gather feed.