Author Topic: Set to Start first Camembert & Petit Brie this weekend?  (Read 11945 times)

Melle12

Set to Start first Camembert & Petit Brie this weekend?
« on: August 20, 2010, 07:42:43 PM »
Hi!
I am new to cheese making, and so far I have made 30 min Mozz, Paneer, 2 farmhouse cheddars, and 1 monterey jack, and this weekend I am set to make my first Camembert and Brie.  My supplies just arrived from cheesemaking.com- 2 cam molds, packet of flora danica, and penicillium candidum packet.  Of course, now I'm confused.  I have read the recipe in Ricky's book and on this site, and I read the packet of penicillium- how do I do this?  The packet of penicillium says to add when adding the culture, which is what the recipe on this site says, but the books says to "rehydrate" and mist the cheeses while they are resting.
So, what do I do?  Do I add when I add the flora danica?  If I need to rehydrate, do I just at water, does it need to sit in the fridge for 10-15 hours as Ricky suggests?

Thanks so much for all your help elsewhere on this forum and on this particular question (sorry if it's a silly one of if it's been asked a bunch).  On the upside, I have a 4.5 GE fridge, and today I got a $13 mini humidifier at Walmart that has already improved my cave for these soft cheeses!
M

linuxboy

Re: Set to Start first Camembert & Petit Brie this weekend?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 08:56:39 PM »
Add to milk with culture. Did Steve give you his recipe? It's pretty decent.

Melle12

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 09:03:44 PM »
Thanks Linuxboy- I have the camembert and brie recipes from Home Cheese Making (Ricki Carroll), and for comparison, I have the camembert recipe from cheeseforum.com.  For my few other cheeses, I have referenced the book, these forums, and the recipes on cheeseforum.com to get a more picture of each step.  Maybe I can search the boards for Steve's recipe?

Melle12

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2010, 09:07:09 PM »