Author Topic: Pressing - Cheese Sticking to Cloth & Chunks Breaking Off  (Read 4634 times)

newcommunitycheesemaker

Pressing - Cheese Sticking to Cloth & Chunks Breaking Off
« on: August 23, 2010, 09:53:48 PM »
I am a very novice cheesemaker, and decided to try to make parmesan style cheese.
I have tried twice, and each time when I take the cheese out of the press, lumps fall off, bits stick to the cloth and a lot of cracks form. Mould gets in through the cracks, and it starts to go furry. (After I have floated the cheese in brine for a week)
Any ideas on what I am doing wrong are much appreciated.
Thanks

Gina

Re: Pressing - Cheese Sticking to Cloth & Chunks Breaking Off
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 12:49:33 AM »
I can't answer your question, but before I make any new cheese, I read as many threads here on the particular type so I can hopefully prevent some problems - though in the beginning you cant prevent them all.  :o

While my first parmesan was a failure (think tall hockey puck), my more recent attempts look and smell good.

Perhaps you could read some of the previous threads here on parmesan and they might answer your question. Look over the titles listed in the link below. You will find a wealth of good information there. Also use the 'search', found in the upper right corner. :)

http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/board,73.0.html

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 03:57:04 AM »
Sure would help if we had a picture ...

KosherBaker

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 04:09:11 AM »
1. How many pounds of pressure are you applying?
2. How long is the cheese in the press?
3. How large is your cheese wheel?

Also if you can specify what recipe you are using, either from a book or online that'll help the gurus around here to point you in the right direction.

newcommunitycheesemaker

« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 11:04:40 AM »