Author Topic: Parmesan Recipe question  (Read 6012 times)

Offline woodsman

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 3
  • Default personal text
Parmesan Recipe question
« on: August 29, 2010, 01:05:00 PM »
In the recipe posted at the end of this forum it says:
Dilute rennet in 1/2 cup cool water, then slowly trickle into the milk stirring constantly with a whisk. Stir for at least 5 minutes.

http://cheeseforum.org/Recipes/Recipe_Parmesan.htm

Is it really necessary to stir the milk for 5 minutes? The last time I stirred the milk this long after adding rennet the resulting curd had very grainy structure and was falling apart when I was cutting it.

mtncheesemaker

Re: Parmesan Recipe question
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 02:45:20 PM »
I'm no expert but most of the recipes that I have used call for stirring the rennet in for 1 minute. I stir with an up and down motion using my flat perforated ladle.

Offline woodsman

• Medium Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2010, 03:12:55 PM »
I'm no expert but most of the recipes that I have used call for stirring the rennet in for 1 minute. I stir with an up and down motion using my flat perforated ladle.

That's exactly what I've always been doing. 1 to 2 minutes at the most, depending on how soon after I started mixing I glanced at the clock and then how vigilant I was to check the clock again while stirring the milk.

Gina

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2010, 03:26:41 PM »
That exact parm recipe was one of the first cheeses I ever tried to make and I thought 5 min was what I was supposed to do, so I did it. Either because of that, or something else I had done wrong (many possibilities back then), during that long stir, the whole pot seized up into a big gluey glob in liquid.