Author Topic: Pressing Pressures  (Read 11982 times)

wharris

Pressing Pressures
« on: November 01, 2008, 06:03:55 PM »
I am very new to cheese making.  I just made my first batch this week. I'm hooked.

But as I read and think about my equipment, I have a question about presses.

I see references to 10lbs of weight for 15 min, then increase to 40lbs for 12, then 50lbs for 24hours.
And, of course, for different cheeses, there are different recommendations.

But my question is this.  What does that 50lbs represent?  so.  for example.  if I have a 6 inch mold, 50 lbs on that press yields about 1.75psi.

Is that enough?  I don't think so.  But fact is, i don't know. 

A quick google does not yield any references to PSI for cheese recipes.  I see presses that can apply anywhere from 3-100 psi.   But, i don't see PSI settings in the recipes.

Thoughts on the correct PSI needed for a standard cheddar press??

Thanks.

Cheese Head

Re: Pressing Pressures
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2008, 07:52:00 PM »
Hi wharris and welcome to this forum.

It's a good question with no hard answer, as you say 50 lb on a 6" diameter cheese works out to 50/(pie x r2) = 1.7 psi, whereas 50 lb on a 4 " diameter hoop cheese is 4.0 psi, quite a difference.

The reality I think is the weights and durations in the recipes are guidelines only as there are many variables, how much whey have you removed before pressing, type of milk used, how hard a cheese you want after aging, how many holes does your hoop and base have to release the whey been pressed out, etc. So basically after you've done a couple of pressed cheeses you start to get a feel for it. Also, if you press at high weights for long time, there is normally very little whey coming out in last hours.

Hope this helps . . . John.

wharris

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2008, 09:42:49 PM »
Well,  I built my own Cheese press

The way I calculate it, i am going to use about 2.8psi using this much weight.

showing my work: