Author Topic: Ph in all it's glory  (Read 13133 times)

Likesspace

Re: Ph in all it's glory
« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2008, 03:09:22 AM »
Hi guys,
There is no doubt that proper PH is critical to making great cheese. Hitting the marks every step of the way will not only result in a superior final product but will also make it possible to obtain the same product each time you make a certain recipe.
Having said that, I will now say this.....
I have chosen not to use a PH meter up to this point in my cheesemaking.
I have made this choice for a couple of different reasons.
1. I feel that fantastic cheese has been made for centuries without the aid of a PH device. I honestly want to learn to produce great cheese by feel and sight since this is the way it has been done since the beginning.
2. Although I can't say that I am an expert in cheesemaking I do consistenly produce a good and satisfying product. Since I have not used a PH meter I've learned to trust my knowledge of the curd at any given point in the process.
The key to making good cheese without a meter is simply tons of practice.
After making enough of a certain variety you will get a "feel" for how the curd should look and feel (both in the hand and in the mouth). This is my experience anyhow.
One of my favorite cheeses to make is swiss. This is one of the more difficult cheeses to make and I have to admit that I've never made one that is really up to my expectations.
Having said that, I will say that I am getting closer with each batch I make. I am getting a  feel for this curd that tells me when I have a curd that will be nice and elastic after pressing and stand up to the brining and salt wiping phases of the process.
My last two came out of the brine perfectly although I am still having problems with seeing it form large eyes during the sweating stage. Regardless of my problems, I am having a blast experimenting with this cheese and am confident that I will eventually succeed.