Author Topic: Provolone & Mozarella Curd Formation Problems  (Read 5232 times)

Heidelberg

Provolone & Mozarella Curd Formation Problems
« on: October 20, 2010, 08:14:01 AM »
Hello my name is Heidelberg and I am new to cheese making!
Thank you for this great forum :)

I am attempting my first cheese (other than the simple Ricotta last night), Provolone (recipe is from this site), and am having some issues with curd formation. After mixing in the rennet and adjusting the temperature slightly, the curd begins to form. Checking the curd about 30-40min later as per the directions and the curd looks like lots of tiny separate grains and won't stick together to form the large curd for cutting into cubes. The little curds also sank to the bottom of the pan and did not stay at the top in a large curd formation as I have seen in pictures.
Temp was about 30C initially, but no curd formation at this temp, so I raised it slightly to 38C and curds began to form.
I have given it lots of time, seeing if maybe more time will help, but no luck yet. Might just strain it and turn it into a mystery cheese. ;)

Does any one know what could have caused this?

Thanks for your help! :)

Alex

Re: Provolone & Mozarella Curd Formation Problems
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 08:29:52 AM »
Welcome to the forum!

Its difficult to answer, what type of milk did you use, as well as culture and rennett?

Heidelberg

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 11:15:04 AM »
Hi Alex, thanks for the reply!